Engineer Training Flash Cards
ABTH Only
GCOR Only
Random Question
Weekday Study

Any question, rule number, or answer reported as wrong will get looked at manually in a couple of days. Please write what is wrong with this flash card and what it should be which will speed up the correction process.
-Thank you!

What is wrong:

No Pending Requests Have Been Submited
Front #280

GCOR 14.3

An eastbound train has a track warrant with a box 2: "Proceed from Manteca to ESS Axilla on the Main Track." Is the crew allowed to foul the ESS Axilla?


  1. No, the crew must stop prior to fouling the ESS Axilla
  2. Yes, but only if another train isn't in the immediate area
  3. Yes, ESS Axilla is listed as the last named point, so the crew can foul and operate the train over the switch
Back #280
Flag

GCOR 14.3


Answer: No, the crew must stop prior to fouling the ESS Axilla
Feedback:
- In this example, the eastbound train must stop prior to fouling the ESS Axilla - A train that is traveling westbound would be able to use the ESS Axilla to clear the main track - GCOR 14.3 states, "A train or engine must not foul a switch at either end of the limits where an opposing train may use the same switch to clear the main track"